comme-del-mas domaine

Coume del MasBANYULS, COLLIOURE, CÔTES DU ROUSSILLON…

The history

Philippe Gard trained as an agricultural engineer specialising in viticulture and oenology. Always a winegrower at heart, he started growing and making wine in the foothills of the Pyrenées in 1997, with vines high above the town of Banyuls. From the very beginning, Philippe has applied the utmost rigour to his work in the vineyard and the winery. Of course, it is the potential of the diverse old vines grown on rocky terraces that shape his work. Each cuvee is the reflection of a vintage on a particular terroir of schist. “We are merely dwarves on the shoulders of giants. Most French Appellations have had their past and future mapped by links with the Church, or with investors. This has never been the case in Banyuls. So here the intense work is somehow achieved by a passionate crowd of individuals – diverse, but with one common belief.”

Today

Philippe Gard joined with Julien Gril and Andy Cook in 2006 to reanimate the venerable old domain Mas Cristine – working in Côtes du Roussillon appellation in Argelès since 1810. The 25 hectares of vines are at around 250m above sea level, and the schist soils of the Albères hills. Situated only a few kilometres from Coume del Mas, the work here continues the desire to understand and express the best Roussillon terroirs.  In addition to the classic Mas Cristine wines, the winery produces the Consolation range with a selection of micro-cuvées from the very best sites, Terrimbo in Collioure (organic certified production) and a range of Côtes Catalanes IGP wines under the Tramontane label.

 

A spirit of innovation

joining Vignobles & Signatures in 2017 was the logical step in the spirit of sharing, creativity and solidarity.

En savoir plus

COUME DEL MAS

Banyuls-sur-Mer

43 Hectares

Banyuls-sur-Mer

43 Hectares

Coume del Mas was born with the 2001 vintage. With his parents living in Banyuls, and the arrival of their children, it was a logical choice for Philippe Gard and his wife Nathalie to create their domain here. The domain now has 16 hectares of vines in 34 separate parcels, and has one of the finest reputations in the Collioure Appellation and indeed the whole Roussillon.

Appellations
Banyuls, Collioure, Côtes du Roussillon, Muscat de Rivesaltes, Rivesaltes, IGP Côtes Catalanes.

COUME DEL MAS
Contacts : Philippe GARD, Andy COOK
3 Rue Alphonse Daudet - 66650 Banyuls-sur-Mer
Phone : 33 (0)4 68 54 27 60
Mail : philippe@coumedelmas.comtramontanewines.com - andy@tramontanewines.com

coumedelmas.com

j
b
Are you of legal age in your country to consume alcohol?

We use cookies to help us better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this policy.

Learn more

comme-del-mas domaine

Coume del MasBANYULS, COLLIOURE, CÔTES DU ROUSSILLON…

L’histoire

Ingénieur agronome spécialisé en viticulture et œnologie, Philippe Gard, viticulteur dans l’âme, s’installe dès 1997 et crée le domaine Coume Del Mas sur les contreforts des Pyrénées, sur les hauts de Banyuls-Sur-Mer. Il applique à l’élaboration de ses vins sa rigueur viticole et œnologique. C’est la mise en lumière du potentiel de diversité de ces vignes en terrasses qui guideront son exigence de précision. Chaque cuvée sera le reflet du millésime sur un terroir de schiste particulier. « Nous ne sommes que des nains sur des épaules de géants. Si, dans la plupart des appellations françaises, le destin des vignobles fut lié à celui des ecclésiastiques ou à celui d’investisseurs, le cru Banyuls échappe à la règle. Ainsi, le travail de la vigne fut toujours sublimé par une foule d’individus anonymes animés d’une même foi ».

Aujourd’hui

Philippe Gard s’associe en 2006 avec Julien Gril et Andy Cook, pour perpétuer l’histoire plus que centenaire du Mas Cristine, appellation Côtes du Roussillon, installé depuis 1810 à Argelès. Le vignoble (25 hectares) est situé à 250 mètres d’altitude, sur les schistes du massif des Albères. Situé à quelques kilomètres au nord de la Coume Del Mas, c’est la continuité évidente de cette recherche d’une mise en valeur permanente des terroirs du Roussillon. Aux grandes cuvées s’ajoutent les sélections de terroirs « Consolation » qui représentent pour chaque millésime des micro cuvées issues des meilleures sélections des domaines Coume Del Mas et Mas Cristine, mais aussi Terrimbo à Collioure (qui produit des vins certifiés « agriculture biologique ») et les Côtes Catalanes de la gamme Tramontane.

L’esprit novateur

Rejoindre en juin 2017 le club Vignobles & Signatures a représenté la poursuite de cette philosophie de partage, d’entraide et de création.

En savoir plus

LE DOMAINE COUME DEL MAS

Banyuls-sur-Mer

43 Hectares

Banyuls-sur-Mer

43 Hectares

Coume Del Mas voit le jour avec le millésime 2001. Banyuls, région où sont installés ses parents, est un choix logique pour Philippe et Nathalie Gard d’autant plus avec l’arrivée des enfants. Aujourd’hui l'un des plus grands de Collioure et l'un des plus en vue du Roussillon, le domaine compte 16 hectares répartis sur 34 parcelles disséminées sur les communes de Banyuls et de Collioure.

Appellations
Banyuls, Collioure, Côtes du Roussillon, Muscat de Rivesaltes, Rivesaltes, IGP Côtes Catalanes.

COUME DEL MAS
Contacts : Philippe GARD, Andy COOK
3 Rue Alphonse Daudet - 66650 Banyuls-sur-Mer
Tel : 33 (0)4 68 54 27 60
Mail : philippe@coumedelmas.comtramontanewines.com - andy@tramontanewines.com

coumedelmas.com

j
b

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies ou autres traceurs pour réaliser des statistiques de visites.