Domaine CauhapéJURANÇON

The history

Back in 1980, Henri Ramonteu, passionate about the few vines that grew around his property, gave up his life as a farmer to learn about winemaking on his own. In just a couple of years, he transformed Domaine Cauhapé into one of the most prestigious of the appellation, having learnt the tricks of production and anticipation of the market demands.

Today

Henry wants to obtain varietal aromas and ageing potential. His unique role models are Bordeaux winemakers – Emile Peynaud for his book, Knowing and Making Wine (first published in 1975), and Denis Dubourdieu for cold skin soaking. Henri Ramonteu is a member of the Académie du Vin de France.

“The taste of wine must be enticing not overwhelming.”: he has passed on his passion to his son David, who has become a winemaking consultant in New Zealand, all the while taking part in the work at Domaine Cauhapé, despite the distance. “At Domaine Cauhapé, details make perfection and perfection is not a detail.”

A spirit of innovation:

A pioneering spirit: the estate has undertaken a progressive orientation towards the production of dry white wines

En savoir plus

DOMAINE CAUHAPÉ

Monein

44 hectares

Monein

44 hectares

Nestled in the heart of Jurançon, between the Pyrenees and the Atlantic, the vineyard today extends over 44 hectares of slopes facing South-East. The region’s climate is characterized by the harshness of the mountains and mild oceanic conditions. Combined with the quality of the terroir, a precious mix of clay, silica and pebbles, it draws out the quintessence of the noble varieties of Jurançon: Gros Manseng, Petit Manseng and Courbu, joined by Camaralet and Lauzet, two historic grape varieties from the Pyrenees that have been replanted, are the backbone of the white blends. “Jurançon’s letters of nobility were gained thanks to its sweet wines – now make way for its dry whites.”

Appellation
Jurançon – Production annuelle : 200 000 cols.

Domaine CAUHAPÉ
Contact : Henri RAMONTEU
Quartier Castet – 64360 Monein
Phone : 33 (0)5 59 21 33 02
Mail : contact@cauhape.com

jurancon-cauhape.com

 

j
b
Are you of legal age in your country to consume alcohol?

We use cookies to help us better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this policy.

Learn more

Domaine CauhapéJURANÇON

L’histoire

En 1980, Henri Ramonteu, passionné par quelques pieds de vignes autour de sa propriété, abandonne son métier d’agriculteur pour s’initier seul à la vinification. En quelques années il fait du Domaine Cauhapé une des références prestigieuses de l’appellation, ayant appris les ficelles de la production, et à anticiper la demande des marchés.

Aujourd’hui

Henri souhaite s’inscrire dans la recherche de l’aromatique variétale et du potentiel de garde. Lui-même ne se reconnaît que 2 maîtres à penser œnologues bordelais, Émile Peynaud pour son ouvrage Connaissance et Travail du Vin (1ère édition en 1975), et Denis Dubourdieu pour la macération pelliculaire à froid. Henri Ramonteu est membre de l’Académie du Vin de France.

« Dans le verre, il faut séduire, pas impressionner ». Il a transmis sa passion à son fils David aujourd’hui installé en Nouvelle-Zélande comme œnologue-conseil, et néanmoins associé régulièrement à l’activité du Domaine Cauhapé, malgré la distance. « Au domaine Cauhapé, les détails font la perfection et la perfection n’est pas un détail ».

L’esprit novateur

L’orientation progressive du Domaine vers la production de vins blancs secs.

En savoir plus

LE DOMAINE CAUHAPÉ

Monein

44 hectares

Monein

44 hectares

Niché au cœur du Jurançon, entre Pyrénées et Atlantique, le vignoble s'étend aujourd’hui sur 44 hectares de coteaux exposés sud-est. Le climat caractéristique de la région allie rigueur montagnarde et douceur océane ; à l’automne, l’effet de foehn, provoqué par un vent du sud, sèche et réchauffe le vignoble. Il favorise ainsi le passerillage pour l’élaboration des vins blancs moelleux. Conjugué à la qualité du terroir, précieux mélange d'argile, de silice et de galets, il permet d'exprimer ici la quintessence des cépages du Jurançon : Gros Manseng, Petit Manseng et Courbu, auxquels il faut ajouter le Camaralet et le Lauzet, deux cépages anciens des Pyrénées qui ont été replantés et sont devenus le pivot de l’assemblage des blancs secs : « les lettres de noblesse de Jurançon ont été inscrites par les moelleux, maintenant c’est au tour des secs ».

Appellation
Jurançon – Production annuelle : 200 000 cols.

Domaine CAUHAPÉ
Contact : Henri RAMONTEU
Quartier Castet – 64360 Monein
Tel : 33 (0)5 59 21 33 02
Mail : contact@cauhape.com

jurancon-cauhape.com

 

j
b

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies ou autres traceurs pour réaliser des statistiques de visites.