Domaine de l’HortusPIC SAINT-LOUP, VAL DE MONTFERRAND

History

The history: Marie-Thérèse and Jean Orliac created Domaine de l’Hortus in 1978.

Today

Their daughter Marie and two of their sons Francois and Yves, followed later on by Martin, joined them afterwards. At present the family runs two vineyards in stunning surroundings.

A spirit of innovation

The estate has completed the construction of new buildings that are the realization of the project dreamt up by Marie-Thérèse and Jean Orliac 40 years ago – buildings in line with the vineyard’s standard of quality.  A new barrel cellar, a bottle storage building and new offices.

In July, each year, there’s a music festival on place, “a wine, music and local products association, showing the territory as a cultural and convivial source”.

Pic Saint-Loup was officially accepted as an appellation on the 2nd of February 2017 for its red and rosé wines, 14 years after the initial demand, this is a form of reward and recognition for the terroir.

En savoir plus

Domaine de l’Hortus & Clos du Prieur

Valflaunès

100 Hectares

Valflaunès

100 Hectares

The Orliac family cultivates today 2 vineyards, in beautiful surroundings: Domaine de l’Hortus, the largest estate (55 hectares), was the first, which they established on fallow land. It is situated on scree slopes at the foot of two high cliffs between the Pic Saint-Loup and Mont Hortus. Its purist-style wooden cellar and homestead, designed by a sister qualified in architecture, fully reflects the Orliacs avant-garde spirit.

The family has since acquired a second vineyard, the Clos du Prieur, about 25 km away. Smaller in size (10 hectares), it surrounds the very old village of Saint Jean de Buèges in a magnificent valley at the foot of the Larzac plateau. The stone cellar, on the edge of the village, is set in the original 6 hectares of walled vineyard. The altitude and the rainfall are higher here and the temperatures are lower than at Domaine de l'Hortus, however both vineyards benefit from the fresh and humid sub Mediterranean climate of the Northern Languedoc.

Domaine de l'Hortus produces red, white and rosé wines.

The range includes Domaine de l'Hortus Grande Cuvée and Bergerie de l'Hortus, “Second wines made from the property’s younger vines blended with a careful selection of parcels cultivated by fellow growers from the Pic Saint-Loup area”.

A single red wine is made at Clos du Prieur, from a combination of old Grenache and Syrah.

Appelations
Pic Saint-Loup, Terrasses du Larzac

Famille ORLIAC – Domaine de L’Hortus
Contacts : Marie-Thérèse, Jean, Marie, François, Yves et Martin ORLIAC
34270 Valflaunès
Phone : 33 (0)4 67 55 31 20
Mail : orliac.hortus@wanadoo.fr 

domaine-hortus.fr

j
b
Are you of legal age in your country to consume alcohol?

We use cookies to help us better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this policy.

Learn more

Domaine de l’HortusPIC SAINT-LOUP, VAL DE MONTFERRAND

L’histoire

Le Domaine de l’Hortus est créé en 1978 par Marie-Thérèse et Jean Orliac.

Aujourd’hui

Ils sont rejoints par leurs enfants. François s’occupe du vignoble, Yves du commercial, Marie s’attèle à la gestion juridique et à la comptabilité, et Martin est responsable des vinifications.

L’esprit novateur

Les nouveaux bâtiments terminés en 2016 sont la concrétisation du projet rêvé par Marie-Thérèse et Jean Orliac il y a 40 ans, des bâtiments à la hauteur du vignoble, dans lequel ils ont beaucoup investi. La nouvelle structure permet un chai à barriques séparé de la vinification, un stockage de bouteilles et des nouveaux bureaux. En juillet a lieu au Domaine un festival de musique, pour « associer musique, vin, produits du territoire et de la nature, montrer que le territoire peut être vu comme une source de proposition culturelle et comme un lieu de convivialité ».
L’AOP PIC SAINT LOUP est officiellement reconnue le 2 février 2017, 14 ans après l’introduction de la 1ère demande, pour ses vins rouges et rosés, une reconnaissance pour le terroir.

En savoir plus

Domaine de l’Hortus et Clos du Prieur

Valflaunès

100 Hectares

Valflaunès

100 Hectares

La famille Orliac cultive aujourd'hui deux vignobles, dans un très bel environnement : le plus grand des deux (55 hectares), le Domaine de l'Hortus, créé le premier sur des terres abandonnées, est situé sur des pentes d'éboulis au pied de deux grandes falaises, entre le Pic Saint Loup et le Mont Hortus. Cave et maison, en bois, dessinées par une sœur architecte dans un style épuré ont été construites par les Orliac eux-mêmes, des bâtiments qui reflètent bien l'esprit pionnier de la famille.

A 25 km de là, le second vignoble, celui du Clos du Prieur, existait déjà quand la famille l'a repris. Plus petit (10 hectares), il entoure le très vieux village de Saint-Jean-de-Buèges dans une vallée grandiose au pied du plateau du Larzac. La cave en pierres, en bordure du village, est située dans un clos authentique de 6 hectares. L'altitude et la pluviométrie sont plus élevées et les températures plus basses qu'au Domaine de l'Hortus, tout en restant dans les deux cas dans la partie septentrionale du Languedoc, à savoir dans un climat subméditerranéen frais et humide.

Au Domaine de l'Hortus, toutes les couleurs sont représentées avec Domaine de l'Hortus Grande Cuvée et Bergerie de l'Hortus, « seconds vins issus des vignes les plus jeunes du Domaine associées avec quelques vignes soigneusement sélectionnées chez nos confrères du Pic Saint Loup ». Au Clos du Prieur, un seul vin rouge est vinifié, assemblage de vieux Grenache et de Syrah.

Appelations
Pic Saint-Loup, Terrasses du Larzac

Famille ORLIAC – Domaine de L’Hortus
Contacts : Marie-Thérèse, Jean, Marie, François, Yves et Martin ORLIAC
34270 Valflaunès
Tel : 33 (0)4 67 55 31 20
Mail : orliac.hortus@wanadoo.fr 

domaine-hortus.fr

j
b

Les vins du Domaine de l'Hortus

Découvrez les vins !

Le Dit de l’Hortus La Soulane rouge
Pic Saint Loup
Domaine de l’Hortus Grande Cuvée rouge
Pic Saint Loup
Domaine de l’Hortus Grande Cuvée blanc
IGP Val de Montferrand
Bergerie de l’Hortus rouge
Pic Saint Loup
Bergerie de l’Hortus rosé
Pic Saint Loup
Bergerie de l’Hortus blanc
IGP Val de Montferrand
Avez-vous l'âge légal dans votre pays pour consommer de l'alcool ?

Nous utilisons des cookies pour nous permettre de mieux comprendre comment le site est utilisé. En continuant à utiliser ce site, vous acceptez cette politique.

En savoir plus