Château de TracyPOUILLY FUMÉ

The history

An ancestral vineyard. The estate’s archives include a parchment, testifying the acquisition in 1396 of “Champs de Crix” (chalk fields) – the parcel of an estate, the land of which, still belongs to the family’s vineyards. Six centuries of winegrowing tradition began in Tracy thanks to the four Stutt brothers, who came from Scotland during the 15th century. They served the future king of France, Charles VII, during several battles in the Hundred’s Years’ War. In recognition of their loyalty, his successor, Louis XI, allowed these brave archers to permanently settle in the Valois kingdom. In 1586, François Stutt married Françoise de Bar, who offered him the Tracy seigneury, a vast estate, with a 200-year-old vine-growing history. In 1950, Alain d’Estutt, the Count of Assay, married Jacqueline d’Estutt de Tracy, thereby bringing together two branches of the same family, separated for nearly 400 years. This reunion allowed the property to grow to its current size.

Today

Surrounded by a young and passionate team, their youngest daughter, Juliette d’Estutt d’Assay, manages Chateau de Tracy, according to the very high standards of quality and excellence that have always prevailed here. She encourages the production of strong, expressive and refined wines, respecting natural balances. “Upholding healthy vine-growing, respecting ecosystems and nature’s balance, through the elimination of any phytosanitary residue, producing pure, delicate and refined Sauvignons, expressing, as closely as possible, the spirit of the estate’s terroirs, and, lastly, promoting in France and abroad, the unique expertise, governing the rigorous selection process of Chateau de Tracy’s great wines.” These are her major objectives.

A spirit of innovation

Château de Tracy is awarded in March 2019 the “Trophée des Réussites” as the most successful company from the Nièvre department in the category “International”. High Environmental Value Level 3 Certification was achieved in 2014 and is controlled and renewed on an annual basis. Château de Tracy is developing workshops and vineyard tours.

En savoir plus

Château de Tracy

Pouilly-sur-Loire

33 hectares

Pouilly-sur-Loire

33 hectares

A rare Pouilly Fumé which reveals its true character in time

Situated between Burgundy and Berry, this 33-hectare winegrowing estate extends across the hillsides of Château de Tracy, standing on a rocky spur overlooking the Loire. A medieval dungeon towers over its high slate rooftops and those of Vilmoy, situated North of Pouilly-sur-Loire. The flintstone clay and Kimmeridgian limestone soils produce a Pouilly-Fumé with strong and expressive notes. The historical yield over a period of 5 years amounted to 54 hl / ha. Long-term maturing, 8-month stirring, limited fining and filtering, allow this exceptional terroir to express all of its plenitude from the unique Sauvignon grape variety. Chateau de Tracy’s Pouilly-Fumé reaches its full potential two years after bottling. This dry white wine can of course be enjoyed in its youth, however a short ageing period reveals its complex aromatic character, combining notes of citrus fruit, white flowers, spices and minerals.

Appelation
Pouilly-Fumé

Château de TRACY
Contact : Juliette d’ESTUTT d’ASSAY
Tracy-sur-Loire - 58150 Pouilly-sur-Loire
Phone : 33 (0)3 86 26 15 12
Mail : juliette.dassay@chateau-de-tracy.com
chateau-de-tracy.com

j
b
Are you of legal age in your country to consume alcohol?

We use cookies to help us better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this policy.

Learn more

Château de TracyPOUILLY FUMÉ

L’histoire

Dans les archives de la propriété, un parchemin de 1396 atteste de l’achat des « Champs de Crix » (champs de craie), parcelle d’un domaine dont les terres, aujourd’hui encore, font partie du vignoble familial. 6 siècles de tradition vigneronne commencent à Tracy grâce aux 4 frères Stutt, venus d’Ecosse au XVe siècle, qui servent pendant la Guerre de Cent Ans le futur roi de France Charles VII lors de plusieurs batailles. Louis XI, son successeur, en reconnaissance des services rendus par ces vaillants archers, leur accorde feu et lieu au royaume des Valois. En 1586, François Stutt épouse Françoise de Bar qui lui offre la seigneurie de Tracy, vaste domaine où la culture de la vigne est implantée depuis plusieurs siècles. En 1950, le comte Alain d’Estutt d’Assay épouse Jacqueline d’Estutt de Tracy, réunissant ainsi les deux branches d’une même famille séparée depuis près de 4 siècles. Ainsi, le Domaine acquiert sa dimension actuelle.

Aujourd’hui

Entourée d’une équipe jeune et passionnée, Juliette d’Estutt d’Assay, leur dernière fille, dirige l’exploitation du Château de Tracy en développant une très haute exigence de qualité et d’excellence qui a toujours prévalu au sein de l’entreprise familiale. Elle favorise la production de vins puissants, expressifs et raffinés dans le respect des équilibres naturels. « Poursuivre la pratique d’une viticulture saine et respectueuse des écosystèmes et des équilibres de la nature en éliminant tout résidu phytosanitaire, produire des sauvignons purs, délicats, raffinés exprimant au plus près l’esprit des terroirs du domaine et, enfin, promouvoir en France et à l’étranger le savoir-faire unique présidant aux rigoureuses sélections des grands vins du Château de Tracy », tels sont ses objectifs prioritaires.

L’esprit novateur

Le Château reçoit en mars 2019 le Trophée des Réussites des entreprises performantes de la Nièvre catégorie International. La certification Haute Valeur Environnementale (HVE) de niveau III, obtenue en 2014, est contrôlée et maintenue chaque année. Le Château de Tracy développe des ateliers, des visites de vignes.

En savoir plus

Le Château de Tracy

Pouilly-sur-Loire

33 hectares

Pouilly-sur-Loire

33 hectares

Des vins de garde expressifs, six siècles de tradition vigneronne.

Entre Bourgogne et Berry, le domaine viticole de trente-trois ha s’étend sur les coteaux du château de Tracy, qui se dresse sur un éperon rocheux surplombant la Loire, un donjon médiéval dominant les hauts toits d’ardoise, et sur ceux de Vilmoy situés au nord de Pouilly-sur-Loire. Les sols d’argiles à silex et de calcaires du kimméridgien donnent au Pouilly-Fumé leurs notes puissantes et expressives. Le rendement historique sur cinq années atteint 54 hl / ha. Élevages longs, bâtonnages 8 mois, collages et filtrations très faibles, permettent à ce terroir d’exception d’exprimer toute sa plénitude à partir du seul cépage Sauvignon. Le Pouilly-Fumé du Château de Tracy livre tout son potentiel après 2 années de bouteille. Ce vin blanc sec s’apprécie, certes, dans sa prime jeunesse ; cependant, une "petite" garde révèle son caractère aromatique complexe où se mêlent agrumes, fleurs blanches, épices et notes minérales.

Appelation
Pouilly-Fumé

Château de TRACY
Contact : Juliette d’ESTUTT d’ASSAY
Tracy-sur-Loire - 58150 Pouilly-sur-Loire
Tel : 33 (0)3 86 26 15 12
Mail : juliette.dassay@chateau-de-tracy.com
chateau-de-tracy.com

j
b

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies ou autres traceurs pour réaliser des statistiques de visites.