Couly DutheilCHINON

The history

Founded in 1921, Domaine Couly-Dutheil used to traditionally kick off the start to the wine harvest in Chinon.

Today

It is the last estate to harvest in Chinon, thereby “allowing for the production of a new wine style.” Indeed, as Arnaud Couly Dutheil is fond of well ripened fruity notes and silky tannins, he decided to adopt a new approach to the harvest date, in view of optimizing the phenolic maturity of the Cabernet Franc grapes. Arnaud Couly Dutheil manages the family estate since his dad’s death in March 2016. He supported him since a few years (he was in charge of the estate since 2003, and appointed to choose the best Clos de l’Écho blending. He is recognized as one of the most talented and creative young vintners from the Loire Valley. “Before reintegrating the family House, I travelled the world of wine – all in all 13 countries – including the United States and Australia; I discovered new ideas, aromatic wine-flavored palettes, which we have adapted to existing in-house techniques. My number one objective is that of maintaining Chinon’s fruit, so as to ensure its expression from the very start, and then of extending its aromatic range through the use of ageing. The diversity of Chinon’s terroirs allows us to propose a complex variety of wines”.

A spirit of innovation

The first botrytized Chenins were elaborated in 2015, after L’Interdit in 2003 and 2008.

En savoir plus

THE FAMOUS CLOS DE L’OLIVE & CLOS DE L’ÉCHO

Chinon

95 hectares

Chinon

95 hectares

Couly-Dutheil is an estate that boasts an impressive string of awards, national and international ones, and the owner of prestigious “terroirs”, including the famous Clos de l’Olive and Clos de l’Echo.

The vineyard is run using environmentally friendly growing techniques (100% grassing, leaf removal, low yields…). This rigorous approach helps to preserve the natural qualities of the harvest and to obtain fully ripened Cabernet Franc and Chenin Blanc. As a result, the personality of each “terroir” is brought to the fore, resulting in wines which combine fruit, generosity and elegance.

Appellation
Chinon

COULY-DUTHEIL
Contact : Arnaud COULY-DUTHEIL
12, rue Diderot – 37502 Chinon
Phone : 33 (0)2 47 97 20 20
Mail : info@coulydutheil-chinon.com
coulydutheil-chinon.com

j
b
Are you of legal age in your country to consume alcohol?

We use cookies to help us better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this policy.

Learn more

Couly DutheilCHINON

L’histoire

Pendant des années, la tradition voulait que le Domaine Couly-Dutheil, fondé en 1921, ouvre le ban des vendanges sur Chinon.

Aujourd’hui

Il est le dernier à vendanger à Chinon, « cela a permis d’installer un nouveau style de vin ». En effet, Arnaud Couly Dutheil est passionné par les expressions de fruits bien mûrs et les tannins soyeux, il a décidé d’avoir une nouvelle approche concernant la date de vendange afin d’optimiser la maturité phénolique des Cabernet Franc.  Arnaud Couly Dutheil dirige le domaine familial depuis la disparition de son père en mars 2016. Il le secondait déjà depuis longtemps (responsable du Domaine depuis 2003), et Jacques l’avait nommé entre autres responsable de choisir le meilleur mariage, le meilleur assemblage possible du Clos de l’Écho. Il est reconnu comme l’un des plus talentueux et créatifs jeunes vinificateurs du Val de Loire.  « Avant de revenir à la Maison familiale, j’ai parcouru la planète-vins, 13 pays viticoles dans le monde, dont les États-Unis et l’Australie ; j’ai découvert de nouvelles idées, des palettes aromatiques aux goûts des vins, qu’on a adaptées aux techniques existantes dans l’entreprise familiale. Mon objectif numéro 1 est de garder le fruit du Chinon afin que le vin s’exprime dès le départ, puis d’allonger la palette aromatique en travaillant le vieillissement. La diversité des terroirs de Chinon nous permet de présenter une variété complexe de vins ».

L’esprit novateur

En 2015 les premiers chenins botrytisés depuis L’Interdit en 2003 puis 2008.

En savoir plus

LES CÉLÈBRES CLOS DE L’OLIVE ET CLOS DE L’ÉCHO

Chinon

95 hectares

Chinon

95 hectares

Couly-Dutheil, une propriété qui a un palmarès de médailles impressionnant, des distinctions nationales et internationales, est propriétaire de prestigieux terroirs parmi lesquels les célèbres Clos de l’Olive et Clos de l’Écho. 

Le Domaine est géré selon le principe de la lutte raisonnée et du respect de l’environnement (enherbement complet du vignoble, effeuillage, faibles rendements…). Cette rigueur culturale permet à Couly-Dutheil de préserver la qualité naturelle des raisins et de vendanger Cabernet Franc et Chenin Blanc à pleine maturité. La personnalité de chaque terroir peut ainsi s’exprimer pleinement et offrir des vins alliant fruité, générosité et élégance.

Appellation
Chinon

COULY-DUTHEIL
Contact : Arnaud COULY-DUTHEIL
12, rue Diderot – 37502 Chinon
Tel : 33 (0)2 47 97 20 20
Mail : info@coulydutheil-chinon.com
coulydutheil-chinon.com

j
b

Les vins du Domaine Couly Dutheil

Découvrez quelques vins du domaine !

Clos de l’Echo
Chinon Rouge
Baronnie Madeleine
Chinon Rouge
Domaine René Couly
Chinon Rouge
La Diligence
Chinon Rouge
René Couly
Chinon rosé
Les Chanteaux
Chinon Blanc
Avez-vous l'âge légal dans votre pays pour consommer de l'alcool ?

Nous utilisons des cookies pour nous permettre de mieux comprendre comment le site est utilisé. En continuant à utiliser ce site, vous acceptez cette politique.

En savoir plus